Cricket 19 General Discussion

Discussion in 'Cricket 19' started by Parcelmoose, Mar 7, 2019.

  1. Short Leg Cricket Club Captain

    Short Leg Cricket
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    National Team:
    13 off 3 and then out! Short but sweet. Not a care in the world there from Carey.
     
    wasteyouryouth said thanks for this.
  2. RAVI99 School Cricketer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Offline is already at its best so online needs some focus now
     
  3. Wavelberry Associate Captain

    Wavelberry
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    National Team:
    England
    Domestic Team:
    Essex, Brockwell Park Nets
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Been away on holiday for a week and I now I find out that Big Ant are trying to destroy cricket by not allowing me to stand 6 feet outside off-stump? This is a disgraceful outrage.
     
  4. gideon_swrd Club Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Visited the forums after a while and was pleasantly surprised to see that a new patch has been released! didn't expect that. Great job BA.

    Quick q - has the AI field placements been improved in this patch? :fingers crossed: I didn't spot that in the patch notes but am hoping they addressed it given the number of complaints about a seemingly simple fix.
     
  5. Gamefroggy Club Captain

    Gamefroggy
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    National Team:
    Location:
    South Africa
    From what I have experienced it did. The annoying and most frustrating thing in the game is the stupid fielding mistakes. There is still the loopy return throws and wicket keeper that squats with bouncer deliveries. Sometimes the fielders stand there like zombies when the ball just rolls past them. Rest of the game is still good
     
    gideon_swrd said thanks for this.
  6. sashu_91 Club Captain

    sashu_91
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Yes very much improved, now you have to look for gaps and loft or drive, it is good, although I played one match with AI bowling with wrong field, other than that match it's quite good in my exp.
    --- Double Post Merged, Oct 18, 2020 ---
    Feel really bad for you, online is buggy I agree, but we want more improvement to AI. Lol
     
    gideon_swrd said thanks for this.
  7. blockerdave ICC Chairman

    blockerdave
    AKA:
    ex-beta
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    National Team:
    Location:
    London
    I’m sure either at release or in a earlier build the AI used all rounders more frequently.

    The weighting of bowling choice is definitely under-using all founders and more weight should be given to ability.

    Edit: this is not a change by the current patch, FWIW. I don’t think this build touched it. But it’s something to look at.
     
    gillyboy04 and wasteyouryouth thanked this.
  8. Silly Point Associate Cricketer

    Silly Point
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    National Team:
    Domestic Team:
    Yorkshire
    Boundary fielding seems to have improved. Players are putting a bit more effort in. Obviously we press a button to flick it back but they seem more likely to actually do it. Just a minor observation.

    That and better batting intent from AI as well as you know what are my obs so far. Enjoying the new challenge but my drives/cuts often end somewhere between both. Played a T20 last night and their keeper took 8 catches! There’s no (Or less) leg side get out clause now.

    The thrill of bowling on this game remains so good though. Bowled a beautiful inswinging delivery by a left-armer to a RHB that clipped the top of off stump. Spin bowling’s great too. Whether it’s knocking over stumps, LBW or edges, that’s what’s great about this game. I still find bowling more enjoyable than batting which is something I never would’ve anticipated.
     
  9. blockerdave ICC Chairman

    blockerdave
    AKA:
    ex-beta
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    National Team:
    Location:
    London
    And following on from this: "change" bowlers (i.e. those not set as opening bowlers), and part-timers (i.e. batting all rounders) should be heavily weighted for bowling change selections between overs 65-79 in test matches ("resting" new ball bowlers).
     
    gillyboy04, zimrahil and wasteyouryouth thanked this.
  10. wasteyouryouth Staff Member

    wasteyouryouth
    Moderator Lannisters
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    I do feel like designation has little too much influence - certainly for bowling all rounders. I would them expect to bowl as much as bowlers. I've changed how I've been doing my players to make someone like Joe Root a batting all rounder. Probably more accurate to describe him as a part timer but they game doesn't take that into account. Can't say my batting necessarily warrants the AI bowling part timers but if you're racking up the runs i'd want to get the sense the AI is trying anything rather than just the standard rotation of 4 or 5 bowlers.

    Agree on the pre-new ball (if there are two set batsman) that your back up and change bowlers would be used.

    In ODI I think you get your 5th and 6th bowlers bowling in the last 10 overs a little too much.

    In tests I would like to see more balance based on conditions or country. So spinners used more in sub-continent conditions. I'm sure when I set up for a 'spinners' pitch the AI will end up bowling seamers for 20 overs and on 'seamers' pitches the spinner will be on sooner.
     
    blockerdave said thanks for this.
  11. Sir Geoffrey Club Captain

    Sir Geoffrey
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    National Team:
    Old Windies, Afghanistan
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    You can also raise a batsman's bowling ability by using the skills. So someone might be a batter but all their skill are bowling ones.
     
  12. blockerdave ICC Chairman

    blockerdave
    AKA:
    ex-beta
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    National Team:
    Location:
    London
    It’s very noticeable when one of the AIs best bowlers is an all rounder. So if you think I’m playing early 90s I’m talking Kapil Dev for India, Chris Cairns for NZ. One work around I’ve found is designating them as bowlers and maxing their batting and using batting perks, but it’s not ideal.

    This is one area where you feel the “AI” logic should be relatively easy (i.e. relative to field selection, attack/contain strategy etc.) since I’m assuming it’s just weighting probability of a fairly random selection.
     
    Sir Geoffrey said thanks for this.
  13. wasteyouryouth Staff Member

    wasteyouryouth
    Moderator Lannisters
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, I think I changed up how I did it after the lockdown tournament. I'd initially gone to setting them as bowlers (Ashwin, Woakes, Kapil, Hadlee) so I could maximise what I would consider their primary role to be. Then I changed how I did the perks, so I use them to boost rather than just additions. Most of my players might have 3 or 4 but someone like Stokes has all of them so I can boost his batting and bowling. Likewise, I can give Smith and Root the rating for their bowling I want and then just give boost batting with a couple of extra perks, but they might at least bowl a few overs as batting all rounders instead of none.

    I'd prefer a system where players just have skills suitable for them and you don't need to have to boost them or change the designation to fit. I could probably write a novel with my views about the way skills work.
     
    blockerdave and Sir Geoffrey thanked this.
  14. Silly Point Associate Cricketer

    Silly Point
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    National Team:
    Domestic Team:
    Yorkshire
    Hi guys

    Just got back into playing the game pre-patch after a little break. Really enjoyed some competitive games following the changes.

    Please can somebody help me though? I’ll admit I’ve had a reply to this before but...

    I can’t for the life of me see how I can choose the colour of my team’s batting/wicketkeeping gloves. I can do everything else but there just isn’t an option. I don’t get it!
     
  15. wasteyouryouth Staff Member

    wasteyouryouth
    Moderator Lannisters
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    You have to change to option 4 (you have like manufacturer 1-5) under that, option 4 allows customisation of colours. I'm in bed or I'd get a screenshot.
     
    GuyIncognito and Silly Point thanked this.

Share This Page