Winning ODIs

Gilly Fan

Chairman of Selectors
Online Cricket Games Owned
How the hell do you win ODIs in ICC09. It is impossible. I get spanked in my bowling and all my strategies that worked in ICC06 fail. Whenever I try and play my batsmen in they get out as soon as I up their attacking or they just go too slow. If I start them attacking from the outset they just go out. It's a lose-lose situation.

What can I do?

Biggy

Panel of Selectors
True, I started playing again yesterday and dominated the Tests but could never get my batsmen to get boundaries even when set and on high aggression.. Ended up on about 198/4. Then when you do get a decent score the AI get real aggressive and you can't stop them! :sarcasm

Hooper

ICC Board Member
  1. Don Bradman Cricket 14 - Steam PC
Easy guys.

4-5 bars aggression in ODIs, keep wickets in hand till late then unload with 7/8 bars in final 10 overs. Its all about having wickets in hand.

Bowling wise... Always one bar quicks, no bars spinners. ALWaYS.

drainpipe32

Chairman of Selectors
I think it's just a luck of the draw thing mate.

What you have to do is focus on taking wickets, not curbing the run rate. If you take wickets the runs will stop. If you try to curb the run rate you'll get smashed!

When batting, pack your team with young players. My typical ODI line-up is as follows

Hughes
Warner
Ponting
White
Watson
Ferguson
Wade
Johnson
Holland
McKay
Siddle

Unlike older players such as Clarke, Hussey they always try to score runs, and always score at a strike rate above 100. I always have Tom Cooper in my squad too, as he's another quick scorer, and scores consistently.

Gazza_11 added 0 Minutes and 31 Seconds later...

Do not go no bar spinners, you'll get thumped!

Hooper

ICC Board Member
  1. Don Bradman Cricket 14 - Steam PC
Isn't this an easy question. Score more runs than your opponent. That's how you win ODI's. :D
:what

Me no get it?

______

@Gazza, anything but 0 bars with a spinner and you'll get thumped.