Michael Clarke wins the AB Medal Award

  1. Article by: Posted: 28th February 2012 In: The PlanetCricket View Replies: No comments

    The annual Allan Border Medal Award evening took place where Michael Clarke won the award for the third time in his career.
    It is a fitting ackolade given the brilliant manner in which he has led the Australian team since taking on the ODI and then Test captaincy.
    Clarkey won the award in 2005, then shared it in 2009 with Ricky Ponting and has now taken it following an incredible year as both a leader and a player for Australia.

    Clarkey has also won the Test player of the year award, while his vice-captain Shane Watson won the ODI and T20 award.
    It is the third time Watto has won the ODI player of the year award (a hat-trick for him with 2010/2011/2012) after his monstrous overall contribution with the bat.
    Watto has so much value for Australian cricket and this has been highlighted with the fact he is in the top 50 of every ICC player ranking category.
    I thought Mitchell Johnson had a chance of the award but fairly Watto performed across the board especially that epic innings against Bangladesh.

    Watto also won the Twenty20 award which was won by David Hussey last year, being the first year the award was handed out. This was voted by overall performance input, so once again it’s the benefits of being an all-rounder.

    David Warner won the Young Bradman award which I honestly thought Patty Cummins or James Pattinson (mostly Jaymo) would win.
    Well done to the Pitbull in any case after making inroads to his Test career (an scintilating 180 against India, averaging 52.37), further consistency coming through his ODI game, power hitting in the T20 format and of course his performances across the board for New South Wales.
    It is a fair award and the last time he will be eligible for the award. Hope he has another sensational year!

    Rob Quiney, who really wrapped things up with his Sheffield output as well as a brilliant Big Bash League, won the State Cricketer award as a representative for Victoria, also known to us as The Bushrangers. Well done Rob.

    Shelley Nitschke won the Women’s International Player award for the fourth time!
    Quite an achievement and her all-rounder efforts paved the way for her, especially given that she has since retired!

    To do a round-up of the awards:
    AB Medalist: Michael Clarke
    Test Player: Michael Clarke
    ODI Player: Shane Watson
    T20 Player: Shane Watson
    State Player: Rob Quiney (Victoria/ Batsman)
    Young Bradman: David Warner
    Women’s Player: Shelley Nitschke

    Michael Clarke shows off his AB Medal alongside the man himself…Allan Border!
    Well done Clarkey!
    © Getty Images

    Read the rest of the article here.

    This article is from The Baggy Green Blog!
    Thanks for reading this article written by Ian.
    To comment on this article, click here.


  2. Post a reply