New to Cricket 04

petesnook

School Cricketer
Online Cricket Games Owned
Hi.

I've only recently started getting into 'real' cricket, and picked up a copy of Cricket 04 for the PS2 the other day (for 20p in a second-hand shop!!!). I am still learning (mainly as I know so little about the real game), but am really enjoying it so far.

I was thinking of getting the later '07 version, as that's also available quite cheap from play.com, but I've been reading some of the posts and reviews etc on this site and have got the impression that although the graphics look better in the PS2 '07 version, '04 is actually the better game - is that correct?

Also, I've been doing some practice in the nets, and playing a few innings with my native Hampshire, but am having a lot of trouble remembering which type of hit to play depending on where the bowl is pitched. Are there any resources which would help with this?

Cheers

treva

ICC Chairman
Profile Flag
England
Cricket 07 has better graphics but on the whole it is a horrible game. Cricket 04 and 05 are by far better in terms of gameplay. The trouble is that 04 and 05 are so much more catered towards the PC platform, rather than PS2. You can patch the games using downloads on here to make the game as good as possible, eliminating annoying bugs and getting even more realism. I would recommend you get 04 or 05 on PC if anything, and certainly do not get 07 as it is a waste of money.

petesnook

School Cricketer
Thanks for the reply. Do you know if Cricket 04 will run under Windows 7? I do have a laptop with XP, but it's only got a built-in Intel graphics card, so may not run it?

Cheers

D

Dutch

Thanks for the reply. Do you know if Cricket 04 will run under Windows 7? I do have a laptop with XP, but it's only got a built-in Intel graphics card, so may not run it?

Cheers

Yep! I run it on windows 7 on a laptop with masses of antialiasing: framerates of 60 or whatever. Smooth as a baby's bum! What video card are you using?