Question for everybody - Cricket Rule.

B

bomber

Guest
[color=#000000:post_uid9]As we all know, if a outfielder takes a catch with his boot on the boundary rope, it's a six, right.

What would happen if, say the keeper or slips fielder had taken a catch and they had part of there body touching the helmet? Would that be five runs? Batsman not out!!!

I actually e-mailed Cricket Australia with this question and had no reply. ???

I would like to hear what people think? Or what you know for a fact?[/color]
 
As far as I know , I don't think there will be any reason ruling him out
 
this is a good question.

I don't know the actual answer, but my gut instinct is that as the helmet shouldn't be there, the batsman wouldn't be out and 5 runs awarded.

It's a pure guess, but I would be intrigued as to what the ruling is ?
 
Originally posted by Auwais BARTHEZ
Well he might have got it before, duh!

Thanks Auwais, this moron could not see I was talking tounge in cheek. As there was a big smile at the end of what I wrote.
 
In the Pak vs Srik match, I think the ball actually touches the helmet before the catch was taken - and was given 6 (5+1) the bats men had run one. The rule states "if the ball touches the helmet...." - not a player.

In short, if the catch is clean and the ball does not touch the helmet or the helmet did not interfare with game play. Then the player is out, even if the fielder touches the helmet.

This is my understanding of the rule, hope I'm correct.
 
I agree out without any doubt you can sit on the helmet if you want as long as the ball does not touch it...
 
I agree that it is only 5 runs if the ball touches the helmet. The key difference is that the rope is a boundry where the helmet is a illegal obstruction and as such only comes into play if it obstructs or alters the path of the ball.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top