Game wont work...!!

gb_11510

School Cricketer
Online Cricket Games Owned
I'm new to Cricket 2004 and to planetcricket.org so hi y'all!
It's the first PC game i've bought in 5 years (usually PS2 gamer) but I was persuaded to go the PC route because of the patches available and the fact that the game seems littered with bugs. Now I see why i've not bought a PC game in 5 years....

I've installed the game OK but it won't work. I get the EA Sports "it's in the game" splash screens, the cut-scene introduction video and music but then the game hangs at the logos / licenses screen. The only way out is to turn off.

It seems a fairly serious crash as when I re-boot, the CMOS is not identifying either my secondary master or secondary slave which are both (usually) present. I have to manually restore my BIOS settings. When Windows finally restarts, I get a message informing me that the system has recovered from a serious error (like, you're not kidding?!).

Any help or advice most welcome - you can talk fairly technical and I do know my way around a computer!!

Current system:
AMD Athlon 1.1GB
128MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce2 64MB
20 GB HDD on Primary IDE / CD ROM as slave
5.4GB HDD on Secondary IDE / CD-Writer as slave
On-board generic Sound Blaster 16

I'm gonna to have a play around this evening and try a few things but if anyone knows what the problem is i'd be grateful. I've tried it on my work PC and it worked fine first time. Maybe i'll just play it at work instead!!

Cheers,

GB

gb_11510 said:
Maybe i'll just play it at work instead!!
Why not? Everyone else does ;) , although stick cricket does suit buisness-type areas better...

he he! ;)
thing is i've just handed my notice in so i'm really looking at a longer term solution...!!
c'mon you tech-heads out there and help a newbie...
cheers,

gb