Draft: The RNG Draft


International Coach
Brisbane Heat
Jan 11, 2017
It's draft time!

I know that my ongoing BBL was/is not very good. That's to be expected for a first try IMHO. I think this was because of three things:
1. A lack of interested participants
2. Some confusing rules
3. Stop-start selections caused by 1.
So I hope to learn from these and deliver an improved experience, with this, the RNG draft!

You may ask, how does a draft run entirely on RNG be interesting? Well, it isn't. You still have final control of your destiny. However, the RNG will determine whether you can pick from a list including Rashid Khan or Don Bradman, or ten utter scrubs.

How will it work?

1. I'll filter Cricinfo's search to include Test, ODI and major T20 nations (the likes of PNG, HKO, CAN), as well as WXI and AsiaXI.
2. This will result in x amount of pages.
3. FOr each participant, I will use random.org to generate what page they may select from.
4. I'll DM each participant with their options each Sunday AEST. They have a week to DM me back.
5. Everyone's RNG list, and pick, is revealed on Saturday, and the next day the process repeats.
The only selection rule is you can't pick a player taken by another team already. Though with over 500 pages to choose from, you'd be ridiculously unlucky to have that happen to you.

I've played this game IRL before with one or two other people, and it's good fun. You can definitely get a very good side but it usually has to have one burner player in it to save the balance of the team. Unless you're my mother.

Next post will be the team rubric which will work in a similar way to the BBL draft.

To sign up I need a team name and a yes below

1. @ddrap14
2. @Ashutosh. : Ashutosh Warriors
3. @Yash. : Hungry Hirani Hamsters
4. @NePtuNe Gaming : Neptune's XI
5. @Albus P. W. B. Dumbledore : Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch's XI
6. @Till Valhalla : Emraan Hashmi
7. @Aislabie : Scuderia Minardi
8. @AsadRM : Pindi Paindus
Last edited:


International Coach
Brisbane Heat
Jan 11, 2017
Team Unknown
Ashutosh Warriors
Hungry Hirani hamsters
@NePtuNe Gaming
Neptune's XI
@Parth D
Wales XI
@Till Valhalla
Emraan Hashmi
Scuderia Minardi
Pindi Paindus
:ken: :wk: Morris Ouma
:sri: :ned: :bat: Flavian Aponso
:ind: :bat: Dilip Vengsarkar
:sri: :bat: Roshen Mahanama
:ind: :ar: Mohinder Amarnath
:aus: :ar: Dan Christian
:eng: :ar: George Ulyett
:aus: :bwl: Geoff Dymock
:nep: :bwl: Sandeep Lamichhane
:saf: :bwl: Lungi Ngidi
:saf: :bwl: Allan Donald
:eng: :wkb: Jos Buttler
:aus: :bat: Jimmy Burke
:saf: :ar: JP Duminy
:sri: :ar: Angelo Mathews
:zim: :bat: Dave Houghton
:ind: :wkb: Dinesh Karthik
:ind: :ar: Shivam Dubey
:ind: :bwl: Shardul Thakur
:wi: :bwl: Shannon Gabriel
:pak: :bwl: Usman Qadir
:eng: :bwl: Sydney Barnes
:nzf: :wkb: Glenn Phillips
:uae: :bat: Shaiman Anwar
:eng: :bat: C. B. Fry
:eng: :ar: Gubby Allen
:pak: :bat: Shahzaib Hasan
:sri: :bat: Thilan Samaraweera
:ind: :wkb: BK Kunderan
:wi: :ar: Sunny Narine
:ind: :bwl: Anil Kumble
:aus: :bwl: Bill Whitty
:eng: :bwl: Neil Foster
:wi: :wkb: Shai Hope
:aus: :bat: Martin Love
:eng: :bat: Wally Hammond
:aus: :bat: Peter Burge
:aus: :bat: Nic Maddinson
:nzf: :ar: James Neesham
:ban: :ar: Naeem Islam
:ind::ar: Irfan Pathan
:aus: :bwl: Shane Warne
:aus: :bwl: Terry Alderman
:ind: :bwl: Ishant Sharma
:pak: :bat: Abid Ali
:saf: :ar: Eddie Barlow
:pak: :bat: Babar Azam
:saf: :bat: Jack Cheetham
:saf: :ar: Lance Klusener
:ind: :ar: Ravi Jadeja
:aus: :wk: Greg Dyer
:zim: :ar: Elton Chigumbura
:sri: :bwl: Pramodya Wickremasinghe
:saf: :bwl: Kagiso Rabada
:afg: :bwl: Ziaur Rahman
:saf: :bat: Graeme Smith
:ind: :bat: Navjot Singh Sidhu
:aus: :bat: Michael Clarke
:aus: :bat: Keith Stackpole
:sco: :ar: Calum McLeod
:pak: :wk: Adnan Akmal
:sri: :bwl: S Senanayake
:aus: :bwl: H. V. Hordern
:aus: :bwl: Brett Geeves
:sri: :bwl: Lasith Malinga
:wi: :bwl: Kemar Roach
:pak: :ar: Aamir Sohail
:ind: :bat: Virender Sehwag
:nzf: :bat: Kane Williamson
:nzf: :bat: John Wright
:eng: :bat: Ted Dexter
:ind: :ar: Vinoo Mankad
:saf: :wk: Denis Lindsay
:eng: :ar: George Geary
:afg: :bwl: Hamid Hassan
:usa: :bwl: Ali Khan
:aus: :bwl: Glenn McGrath
:pak: :bat: Nazir Mohammad
:aus: :bat: Norman O'Neill
:saf: :wkb: AB De Villiers
:eng: :bat: KS Duleepshinji
:ban: :bat: Mominul Haque
:aus: :wk: Peter Nevill
:afg: :ar: Mo Nabi
:eng: :ar: Ian Botham
:nzf: :ar: Chris Cairns
:ned: :bwl: Paul van Meekeren
:pak: :bwl: Shaheen Shah Afridi
Last edited:


Staff Member
PlanetCricket Award Winner
Melbourne Stars
X Rebels
Aug 24, 2015
Profile Flag

Hungry Hirani Hamsters


International Cricketer
PlanetCricket Award Winner
Mar 23, 2020
Profile Flag
In, Neptune's 11

Parth D

ICC Chairman
PlanetCricket Award Winner
Champions League Winner
Mar 27, 2014

Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch's XI


The Butcher
The Boys
Jun 9, 2019
Profile Flag

Sorry my work is keeping me busier than I excepted, good luck to everyone but I will have to miss out on this draft as well. But I'm interested to keep an eye on this

Users who are viewing this thread